Inauguration of the First Biennial of Painting

Inauguration of the First Biennial of Painting

On the 1st of April, 2008, in a simple and, at the same time, emotional ceremony, Counselor Álvaro Noboa Pontón inaugurated the first “Luis A. Noboa Naranjo” Biennial of Painting.

Guests belonging to the business, professional, artistic and cultural sectors gathered in the offices of the Luis A. Noboa Naranjo Museum in order to participate in the inauguration and the granting of prizes to the winners of the 1st Biennial of Painting.

It was an opportunity to get to know the winning works and those that received Honorable Mentions, which were catalogued by the qualifying jury as a representative sample of the enormous creativity and talent of Ecuadorian painters.

In his inaugural speech, Álvaro Noboa Pontón expressed his pleasure in promoting a new generation of painters and thus proceeded to bestow the prizes to the winners.

Jimmy Lara, the winner, received the established prize of $3,000 for his work, “We Click to Continue”.

For his work “It’s said that”, Wilson Quichimbo received the second prize of $2,0000.

And, Pedro Dávila received the third prize of $1,000 for his work “The Frog’s Game”.

Jaqueline Villamar, Eloy Cumbe, Marcos Barahona and Wilson Jácome received Honorable mentions.

It is important to point out that the Ecuadorian-Argentine painter, Claudia Serrano Solá participated with two works that today belong to the museum.
The 1st Biennial of Painting was undoubtedly a success due to the participation of 230 artists, the selection of the qualifying jury, and the transparency and communication of the process through to its culmination.

Countless congratulations went to Pablo Martínez, the Museum’s Director, and his team of colleagues, beginning with those of Counselor Alvaro Noboa and the attending guests who enjoyed a beautiful cultural soirée.